God: A defense against defense mechanisms.

Anger and sarcasm have been my defense mechanisms since childhood. I wasn’t the most popular kid growing up whether I was being picked on because I came from a poor family who couldn’t afford the latest trends or because I was one of the lightest skinned kids in a predominately Hispanic school. You name it, I was probably teased about it. But as the years passed by I learned that I had a wit about me and I could tango with the best of them. When these kids picked on me it was all too easy to tear them down a notch as they have been doing to me. The temporary satisfaction of getting even only led me to believe that this is what I should have been doing all along. Defend myself at all costs, that’s what the world teaches us, right? Wrong. Had I known then that it never mattered what these kids thought of me, it only matters what God thinks of me, perhaps my anger and especially my attitude would not be such a battle I face so often today in my adulthood.

Anger in itself is not a sin; Actions carried out in Anger can be.

Anger in itself is not a sin;
Actions carried out in Anger can be.

There are days where my anger wins the battle and I walk away feeling defeated by my own actions but then there are days filled with glorious victories that eclipse whatever win the devil thought he had over me. On those days I realize how truly far God has brought me. He is my great defender and will right any wrong done against me. And furthermore that in the face of a trial a lesson can always be learned.

God can transform the most stubborn of hearts out there and use them for good just like He did with Paul(Saul). God has promised to finish the work He has begun in us and there isn’t a shadow of a doubt in my mind that it will be done. Piece by piece we will be chipped away until that precious day we are called up and will be made perfect like our savior Jesus Christ. I pray that each of us can extend grace especially to those we feel do not deserve it. I lift all those who are struggling with these same anger issues as me. May we be lifted up to the Lord so that He may remove every stem of bitterness and resentment in our hearts. Help us to forgive, let go and not sin in anger. In the precious name of Jesus Christ I pray this over every person who reads this message. Amen. God bless you all my brothers and sisters.

Sincerely,

4rm Partygirl to Praying Woman

 

A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control. ~Proverbs 29:11

49 thoughts on “God: A defense against defense mechanisms.

  1. While I do love sarcasam from time to time and I am known to be witty outside the computer. It is often times, hard to distinguish online, so I try my best not to act that way online. I remember as a kid in the 7th grade wanting these popular Guess brand jeans with the triangle logo on the bum. We weren’t well off either, in our home – so I never did get them. I still remember the girls who used to tease me over such silly things!

    • Yes exactly. So many things can be mis-interpreted when having a convo online. I enjoy humorous sarcasm like between friends but I really need to work on my snappy sarcasm. That’s the one that gets me in trouble! lol And oh boy…middle school girls can be harsh. Lord knows I’ve had my fair share of bullying only to turn around and do it to someone else. I am a work in progress though. Thanks for your share!

  2. I am definitely very witty and sarcastic but everyone who knows me knows that about me and can always tell when I’m being serious or just joking around. However, when I am around strangers my wit always comes of a “goofy” or funny never rude ❤

    • Aww that’s great. For me even to those who know me, my tone can sometimes come off much harsher than I meant it. I don’t know if it’s because of the way I talk, the way my voice sounds or maybe it’s just becuase I am a natural, born fiesty Puerto Rican. Lol Either way, I, for some reason struggle with this issue. But I am learning that God uses my struggles more often then my triumphs to help teach me and those around me. Thank you for your share!

      But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 1 Corinthians 12:9

  3. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Everyone has moments and days that we just slip into old habits. God forgives and loves you despite all of your mistakes. He sees the beautiful person you are. And a little sarcasm isn’t all bad 😉

    • You’re right. I can be my own worst critic sometimes and I am working on extended the same grace to myself as well. I know God doesn’t expect me to be perfect and He will love me regardless but I guess that’s what makes me want to please Him so. Thank you for your input. God bless. 🙂

  4. Many people wonder why I never react immediately when someone angers me because I know I will sin if I act on my anger. I will not lie I am no angel when I am angry I think and feel quite dangerous during those times because of the things I am thinking I should do back but then I remind myself I am better than this so I nip it in the bud. Thanks for this post

    • That is very wise of you. I pray for that same wisdom and self-control. God is working this out in me, this I know. But as self-control is my goal so is controlling my thoughts. I’ve learned that on those days God has helped me win the battle and pass a test of the quick tongue because the thoughts to lash out in anger were controlled and redirected. I am a firm believer in “Change your thoughts, Change your life”.

      For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. ~ Ephesians 6:12

      Thank you so much for sharing!

  5. I once announced (because I wanted to be cool) in the changing rooms at school that anyone that didn’t own any flares was really sad. I ended up offending one of my very best friends and she ran off – I later found her crying in a corner and felt so awful for so long!

    Katie ❤

    • Oh I call those “foot in mouth” exercises and let’s just say I do that exercise more than I should! LoL But remorse is so underated. You feeling bad not only told you that perhaps what you did was wrong but it more than likely has help you be a bit more causious with future similar situations. I know for me personally there are some lessons that I have only learned by making mistakes. Thank you for sharing!

  6. It’s hard to think when you’re angry, so I believe it’s good to step back, look at the situation like an outsider, and then react. Otherwise, you can do something you will regret. Great post! ❤

  7. Thank you for this post. This is the first time I’ve seen your blog and with this post I can totally relate to what you’re saying. My ultimate goal is to be able to become what God really wants of me. It is a diificult journey but everyday is a new day for me. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Thank you and God bless your heart. The very best decision of my entire life was to finally give my life over to God. It was overwhelming at first because He had given me such a thirst for His word and all that He was that I wanted to do all and change all at once for to be better for Him. But I God’s grace is sufficient. It’s sufficient. Meaning for us as believers who want to truly follow Christ we strive to follow His example but if we’re not careful we will start measuring ourselves against the law and not against the grace that was gifted to us. We will always fall short, even the best of us and that is what makes God so awesome. He knew this and sent His son so that the law was fulfilled. God desires that we want to follow Him, that we want His guidance and love. Its never been about force. Thank you so much for sharing. God bless my sister.

    • Prayer is a powerful weapon. Going to prayer before I react in anger is something I really need to work on. Thank you for sharing that because it is nothing to be ashamed of. God bless you!

    • Oh how very right you are! I have had and still have some relationships that need mending and one thing I have noticed is that when I am angry with someone they plague my mind. It’s as if I let them live inside my head rent free and I can assure you that I am the one who suffers most from it not them. Sometimes we don’t realize that we’ve taken back what we thought we gave over to God and we need to give it back again. How amazing is it that God is there to continue helping you even if you are struggling with the same issue but because you are His, He will not leave you?! All we have to do is ask. God bless sister.

    • Yes that is true. I surely don’t want to come off that way especially when I don’t mean to. Always good to make sure that the technology gap isn’t messing the translation up. Thanks for the reminder!

  8. We never had a ton of money growing up either, and I definitely never had the latest trends, but thankfully I had friends that didn’t care about that stuff, and don’t really remember getting teased. Kids can be so mean though!

    • Yes they can Erica. So glad to hear you had a good surrounding of friends. I was later blessed in highschool with such a great group of friends that we are still friends to this day. They are pretty much sisters now. 🙂

    • Oh thank you for those sweet words. I pray God can continue to use this blog to inspire you and others like yourself. God bless!

Leave a Reply

