Traits of Saints

christian woman

When you hear the word “Saint” certain images or behavior come to mind or at the very least in my thought process growing up it did. I grew up in a Catholic church. We prayed in the name of many saints and each saint even had their own candle and strength to which we prayed to them for. Growing up I never truly questioned our family’s belief and in the same respect never did I have the relationship I now have with my savior or any relationship with him for that matter. In my experiences it never became personal with God and I. I remember lighting candles and praying to the Virgin Mary or St. Joseph for such things as this prayer: “Oh St. Joseph, whose protection is so great, so strong, so prompt before the throne of God, I place in you all my interests and desires.” Saints were depicted to me as ones who we should pray to and even felt as if we were worshiping these saints. This is not the desire of our God. There is no name above his and all glory must go to God himself, Jesus Christ and the Holy spirit for they are the trinity. While distinct in their relations with one another, they are one in all else.

In the book of Colossians Paul’s purpose was to bring encouragement on what to believe about Christ and how to act on that belief. Saints are described as meaning “Holy Ones” who have faith in Christ and love other believers according to the Word. This is not to say saints are perfect and are people who never do wrong. God has an awesome habit of picking nobodies with weaknesses because he sees their strengths. God loves us and he wants that personal relationship with us. It does not bring him joy to see us praying to others rather than himself. HE is our God and he alone can answer our prayers. We do not need interpreters to speak to God. God can see our true hearts desires without us even speaking one word so why have a middle man? This is not to confuse with praying in numbers. There is no greater love then worshiping with your fellow believers in God’s name. So many people know God’s word and so many other people do not take the time to read HIS word. I must admit I was very much guilty of not reading the word but having a strong opinion on who God is and what he doesn’t do to his people and how he believes we should live. This whole time I was creating a God to fit my lifestyle. In order to do the right thing you have to know what is right, believe it is right and then execute the right thing.

Think of the bible as your B.asic I.nstructions B.efore L.eaving E.arth. We will always be a work in progress constantly hungering to be creating ourselves closer and closer to the image of Jesus Christ. That is the love we should all strive to have for God. It will take conviction, sacrifice and turning against our Earthly desires. Some people I know have knowledge of the word. Way more than I know now as I am just beginning this journey of mine yet they do not possess the wisdom. Wisdom is the appropriate use of knowledge. Using your knowledge of the word in life for God is wisdom but using that same knowledge against a fellow child of god is a far cry from the very concept of ever even having this knowledge. I myself love to dance and in my outings would also drink like a fish. But I have been born again in Jesus Christ yet I know I am weak. I do not wish to put myself in situations where I know I may be tempted to go back to who I was before I accepted God in my heart. The devils wishes for us to succumb even if it is just me going out to a club just to dance he will see me in a weak stage surrounded by non-believers and I may crumble and have crumbled in the past accepting the lie that I was that person again. God knows we can’t and never will measure up to HIS perfection but God’s grace and mercy is shown when he sent his only PERFECT son to die on the cross for OUR sins. I am struggling with this very thing and I thank God for the inspiration he has given me to write this for his beautiful children to see.

I do not wish to put down any fellow believers in any religion because that is not my intent. I only wish to share my knowledge and pray that God blesses that knowledge I am gaining and guide me into wisdom to share to all. My belief in Jesus Christ is not my religion but he is my savior, my love, my husband, my everything. I only wish to share my knowledge that I am slowly gaining everyday worshiping and bible studying with my fellow believers on what the Word says to do. I urge all believers whether you are Catholic, Pentecostal, Christian etc. that you gain that personal relationship with your savior. That relationship alone will bring you so much joy, happiness and strength you never thought possible. I am walking proof of this my friends. I don’t have much by this Earth’s standards but I have EVERYTHING in my love for Jesus! A saint receives strength from God and does NOT give up easily. (Colossians VS.11)

I’ve met some of the strongest worshipers with faith the size of mountains who within the uncertainty of the inevitable “backsliding” back into a life without God it scares them to their very core. Yet these same people know that through God all things are possible. He is the great I AM! This is something even people who have been saved for over 20 years know that they have to constantly work for. We will ALWAYS be a work in progress and not one person will be righteous enough to stop learning about God and stop trying to grow closer to him. Until that day our lord calls us up to be with him and be made like him in spirit out of this early flesh we carry with us, we must never stop gaining the wisdom of HIS word. God’s grace saves me from always giving up. His strength gives me strength to handle circumstances and as my preacher stated even joyfully at times I will face hardships. If you leave this post today with one thing I would pray that it would be to re-evaluate the relationship you have with your savior. It should be intimate as only you and HIM could be together. He lives in all of us waiting for the day for us to accept him so that we may be saved under his grace. No matter what you say or think God will always love you.

Sincerely,
4rm Partygirl to Praying Woman

Leave a Reply

